What is Islam

The religion of islam is the complete acceptance of and obedience to the teachings of God which He revealed to His prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

Basic Islamic Beliefs

1. Belief in God:

Muslims believe in one, unique, incomparable God, Who has no son nor partner, and that none has the right to be worshipped but Him alone. He is the true God, and every other deity is false. He has the most magnificent names and sublime perfect attributes. No one shares His divinity, nor His attributes.

No one has the right to be invoked, supplicated, prayed to, or shown any act of worship, but God alone.

God alone is the Almighty, the Creator, the Sovereign, and the Sustainer of everything in the whole universe. He is the All-Hearing, the All-Seeing, and the All-Knowing.

He knows what has happened, what will happen and how it will happen. No affair occurs in the whole world except by His will.

Islam rejects that God rested on the seventh day of the creation, that He wrestled with one of His angels, that He is an envious plotter against mankind or that He is incarnate in any human being. Islam also rejects the attribution of any human form to God. All of these are considered blasphemous.

The Arabic word Allah means God (the one and only true God who created the whole universe). The word Allah is a name for God which is used by Arabic speakers, both Arab Muslims and Arab Christians. In Aramaic, a language related closely to Arabic and the language that Jesus habitually spoke, God is also referred to as Allah.

2. Belief in Angels:

Muslims believe in the existence of the angels and that they are honored creatures. The angels worship God alone, obey Him, and act only by His command. Among the angels is Gabriel, who brought down the Qur’an (in stages) to Muhammad (PBUH).

3. Belief in God’s Revealed Books:

Muslims believe that God revealed books to His messengers as proof for mankind and as guidance for them. Among these books is the Qur’an, which God revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

Allah says in the Qur’an, “Indeed, We have sent down the Qur’an, and surely We will guard it (from corruption).”
(Chapter.15 : Verse.9)

4. Belief in the Prophets and Messengers of God:

Muslims believe in the prophets and messengers of God, starting with Adam, including Noah (Nuh), Abraham (Ibrahim), Ishmael (Ismail), Isaac (Ishaq), Jacob (Yaqoob), Moses (Musa), and Jesus (Isa) (peace be upon them). But God’s final message to man, a reconfirmation of the eternal message, was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). Muslims believe that Muhammad (PBUH) is the last prophet sent by God and that all the prophets and messengers were created human beings who had none of the divine qualities of God.

5. Belief in the Day of Judgment:

Muslims believe in the Day of Judgment (the Day of Resurrection) when all people will be resurrected for God’s judgment according to their beliefs and deeds.

6. Belief in the Divine Predestination:

Muslims believe in Al-Qadar, which is Divine Predestination, but this belief in Divine Predestination does not mean that human beings do not have freewill. Rather, Muslims believe that God has given human beings freewill which means that they can choose right or wrong and that they are responsible for their choices.

The belief in Divine Predestination includes belief in four things:

1. God knows everything. He knows what has happened and what will happen.

2. God has recorded all that has happened and all that will happen.

3. Whatever God wills to happen happens, whatever He wills not to happen does not happen.

4. God is the Creator of everything.