What is Quran

The Qur’an, the last revealed word of God, is the primary source of every Muslim’s faith and practice. It deals with all the subjects which concern human beings: wisdom, doctrine, worship, transactions, law…etc., but its basic theme is the relationship between God and His creatures. At the same time, it provides guidelines and detailed teachings for a just society, proper human conduct, and an equitable economic system


The Qur’an was revealed to Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) in the Arabic language. So, any Qur’anic translation, either in English or in any other language, is neither a Qur’an, nor a version of the Qur’an, but rather it is only a translation of the meaning of the Qur’an. The Qur’an exists only in Arabic language in which it was revealed.

Holy Qur’an consists of 114 chapters (called Surah or Surat). Each Surah consists of verses (called Aayath). During the daily five times’ prayer, a Muslim recites verses from the Holy Quran. It is mandatory for a Muslim to recite the first Surah of Holy Qur’an, Al Fatihah, in all prayers. Allah’s Messenger (PBUH) said, “Whoever does not recite Surat Al Fatihah in his prayer, his prayer is invalid.” (Sahih Al-Bukhari, Vol.1, Hadeeth No. 723).

Here you can listen the first chapter of Qur’an: Surat Al Fatihah (the opening)

Meaning of Surat Al Fatihah:

  • In the name of Allah, the Beneficent, the Merciful (1)
    Praise be to Allah, Lord of the Worlds, (2)
    The Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. (3)
    Owner of the Day of Judgment, (4)
    You (alone) we worship; You (alone) we ask for help. (5)
    Guide us to the Straight Way, (6)
    The Way of those on whom You have bestowed Your Grace, not (the way) of those who earned Your Anger, nor of those who went astray (7)

  • Listen the first chapter of Holy Quran